First steps:

Most people who go through our functional medicine clinic (http://www.therootcauseclinic.com) start their first appointment with our amazing nutritionist Sarah Bingham. (google her!) http://www.fastfoodhealing.com. She is way more than someone who tells you what to eat and not to eat!

During my first sit down with her … she started by asking about my mother’s pregnancy, all the way through my childhood to present date.  Not just about illnesses, but about memories etc.  A complete and thorough history was done (almost felt more like a therapy appointment pretty emotional actually) which usually is the “Root Cause” of how and why we eat like we do…. right?!

I will share with you some of the tips she gave me.  Granted, one size does not fit all here…these are based on my issues which are mainly gut health, thyroid and weight.  This diet is generally given to people with inflammation (all of us) and autoimmune diseases.  It can actually reverse them or at least put them into remission.  I have seen this happen already!

For the first 7 days she suggested I completely remove white sugar (no wine ugh), dairy (anything that comes from a cow) and gluten.  I am not allergic to gluten per blood work but am gluten sensitive as most of us are because we can’t process it.  If you are serious about feeling better…do it! I have a friend at the clinic that is doing this program. She has rheumatoid arthritis in her legs and has found a lot of relief from her pain just by eliminating dairy.  Some may say, “I don’t eat much dairy,” but think about it- cheese, creamer, blah, blah (sub with almond milk_!

I mean consume zero dairy! No milk, butter, cream sauces, yogurt etc.

As many of you know I have had some major intestinal issues in the last couple of months actually years… after an ER stint ,major antibiotics, bone broth, bland diets and 6 weeks of misery, my gut is much better. To avoid those things though… I believe the protocol is The GAPS diet. Check it out on You Tube or http://www.draxe.com. Both Dr. Jordan Axe (the one i work for) and Dr. Josh Axe put most of their info on facebook or youtube. It’s all out there!

So, basically for the first 7 days, I (we) will be eating only veggies (all you can eat), fruit (limited), nuts (raw cashews) seeds, beans, legumes and meat. Coffee is fine, tea etc. She suggests going all organic.  Coconut and olive oil is fine. Basically a paleo diet.

Sarah’s tips:

The crockpot is your friend!

To make this very simple- put something in the crockpot every morning (yes mom, you were right). I will give you Sarah’s links for recipes.  This will be your dinner and your lunch the next day!

For breakfast you can do something like eggs with veggies (omelet) and a handful of nuts for protein .

If you are not much of an exerciser, lay out your workout gear at night and put it on first thing in the a.m. and walk for 30 min.  (reduces stress and anxiety).

Here are a few things she suggested for me:

Gut and Psychology Syndrome (book)

L-thiamine (for anxiety)

calcium citrate- magnesium (for calm)

Also, write down everything you eat!

Yesterday was day one on the diet…. I had lots of energy and felt good.  Scale is actually down 3 lbs. this a.m. hopefully it stays there!

Hope you benefit from these tips and leave any comments or questions . I will try to answer or get answers for you!

xx, k

CROCK POT A LA PALEO

Here’s a great site with paleo crockpot meals.  Enjoy!  Remember to keep the amount of meat small and the amount of veggies big!

http://newleafwellness.biz/2016/10/25/31-paleo-crockpot-freezer-meals/

 

ROASTED SWEET POTATO WEDGESGOING DAIRY FREEDaily Food Diary FFH (1)PANCAKES SQUASHROASTED SWEET POTATO WEDGES

Leave a comment